Behind Door #3? Hello Ember! 06/13/16

20160423_184913

TRAIL

Admittedly I didn’t do any Ember in Chicago, and sadly this mistake will probably be repeated this weekend. On the bright side, my sister was gorgeous for prom this past Friday and will be walking across the stage this Friday. I’m so happy I’m able to be there for both and excited for her to begin college!

Considering how far behind I was last week I covered a lot of ground today and plan on continuing when I get home today.

Also we’re choosing group projects today through Wednesday, but because I’m behind I have no clue what I would like to make. I need to hurry and catch up. I’m hoping to briefly document what I learn each day once I’m caught up, but until then…

TRACKS

Going home reminded me of how unlikely my circumstances are and what it took to get here. I mean what are the chances, ya know, that I would be here in Portland, or that I would be in Nashville, Atlanta, Auburn etc., each experience serving a role in something much bigger?

My essential, but less than traditional progression reminds me of a quote by Alex Banayan I read on developer, Haseeb Qureshi’s blog :

All highly successful people treat life, business, and success just like a nightclub. There are always three ways in.

There’s the First Door, where 99% of people wait in line, hoping to get in.

There’s the Second Door, where billionaires and royalty slip through.

But then there is always, always… the Third Door. It’s the entrance where you have to jump out of line, run down the alley, climb over the dumpster, bang on the door a hundred times, crack open the window, and sneak through the kitchen. But there’s always a way in.

Whether it’s how Bill Gates sold his first piece of software, or how Steven Spielberg became the youngest director at a major studio in Hollywood — they all took the Third Door.

Leave a Reply

