Father Knows Best

September 20, 2015, Gary, IN my pastor preached a sermon titled ‘Beware of Kryptonite’. We all have one in some capacity, an since this isn’t my tell all, so I’ll leave you to reflect on your own distractions from Christ. At the time of this particular sermon, I had just been offered the employment opportunity of a lifetime in Nashville, TN and I was making plans to make the best of it before moving on to another opportunity in Portland, OR. I knew where I was going and was determined to break down any barriers to get there.

But favor can’t be hustled on merit. I didn’t realize God wasn’t giving me an ‘A’ for effort as much as he was giving me an Open door for Obedience. A Fortuity for Faith. And somehow a Season of Supplication. Consequently, I felt I had earned this opportunity. I mean did all the foot work. I made all the calls. I shook all the hands. Yet it was nothing short of a miracle that my call back came though (literally had the wrong number on my resume).

In short my pursuit of my dreams had become my kryptonite. I had put the drive I once ha for gaining guidance from Christ on the back burner to make room for my new aspirations. Nonetheless I was blessed. With the job and substantially more favor. I even made a comment along the lines of ‘being one of God’s favorites’, knowing all too well God was slipping from my very own top three.

Some Sunday sermons later I rearranged, changed, maintained, and prayed. Put God first until recently the time dew near for my Portland opportunity and I put that first. Folks reminding me left and right to pray, and I was, but I could do better. I know very well I’m not scouring for answers in my scriptures the way I’m scouring roommate wanted ads, but somehow I’m expecting results for all this misplaced effort.

So, I reach for my headphones, but I’m called to my bible. “I’ll sit down and give it my full attention later”. Replacing my headphones hours later evokes guilt I ignore reassuring myself I’ll devote time, some other time. Fatigue leads to rest, and rest to reenergizing. My open laptop illuminates my otherwise dark room. Before another keystroke I open my bewailing bible and waddya know! Out falls my notes from ‘Beware of Kryptonite’.

Philippians 4:6-7 KJV
6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

 

Leave a Reply

